Diocese of Joliet

Home » Office of the Bishop » Diocesan Pastoral Council » 2013-2014

Diocesan Pastoral Council

About the Diocesan Pastoral Council
Mission Statement
History (Chronicle)
Membership Requirements
2019-2020 Council Membership
Open Positions
DPC Home
DPC Meetings
Parish Pastoral Councils
2017 Diocesan Assembly

Diocesan Pastoral Council Chronicle



  • The DPC handbook was revised and updated to include the constitution changes and new Deanery Structure.
  • Members will be conducting Parish Forums for information gathering for the Pastoral Planning Committee
  • The DPC will be hosting an Assembly in the fall of 2014 as per the constitution guidelines


  • DPC meeting was held in the new Blanchette Catholic Center in Crest Hill, IL
  • A proposal for Shrine to Our Lady of Guadalupe from St. Mary parish in Plano, IL was reviewed and discussed
  • A proposal for purchase of land for Our Lady of Korean Martyrs was reviewed and discussed 
  • Election of officers was held:
    • Chairperson: Jurate Harris, Vice Chairperson: Amy Boone, Recording Secretary: Cheryl Montgomery
  • Elected Commission leaders:
    • Commission 1: Victoria Gadbois
    • Commission 2: Honorable Terry Sheen
    • Commission 3: Melissa Eichelberger
    • Commission 4: Debra Mayconich Baron


  • David Spesia introduced the Newman Institute which provides ongoing faith formation opportunities, and some of its offerings. 
  • Executive Committee to consider formation opportunities for parish council members. 
  • Handbook/Constitution amended to manage administrative issues. 
  • In an update on the pastoral planning efforts, Tony Molinaro presented the three pillars and seven areas of focus identified by the committee and suggested a rollout strategy. 
  •  Plans discussed for the 2014 Assembly.