Diocese of Joliet

Home » Office of the Bishop » Diocesan Pastoral Council » 2012-2013

Diocesan Pastoral Council

About the Diocesan Pastoral Council
Mission Statement
History (Chronicle)
Membership Requirements
2019-2020 Council Membership
Open Positions
DPC Home
DPC Meetings
Parish Pastoral Councils
2017 Diocesan Assembly

Diocesan Pastoral Council Chronicle


February 2013

  • Bishop Conlon talked about a change in the DPC structure to more closely mirror the Diocese’s Deanery structure.  
  • Sr. Stola spoke on behalf of Hispanic Ministries within the Diocese; Fr. Belmonte, the Superintendent of Catholic Schools, gave a presentation concerning funding of our Catholic Schools; and David Spesia gave an overview of the Neumann Institute Lay Formation, which serves parishes by providing the lay faithful with formation opportunities.  
  • Tony Molinaro gave an update on the work completed by the Pastoral Planning Committee, which included highlights of various parts of the plan: The Planning Process, Planning Involvement and Engagement, Pastoral Issues and Assumptions, Goals/Priorities, Strategies, and Actions.  He also explained the differences between goals, strategies, and actions; and listed goals and some strategies developed thus far by the planning committee. 
  • During February and March, the Planning Committee will be conducting a survey of the clergy, deaconate, and curia to obtain their opinions and comments on pastoral strategies.  In addition, the Planning Committee is requesting that DPC members offer this Pastoral Plan update at their next cluster meetings and lead a discussion on pastoral strategies and actions.

June 2013

  • Alex Rechenmacher was introduced as the DPC Executive Secretary. Edward Flavin was introduced as the Diocese of Joliet Director of Communications, and Jorge Rivera introduced as the Diocese of Joliet Director of Hispanic Ministry and Coordinator of Ethnic Ministry. 
  • The DPC recommended adopting the new deanery structure to mirror the Presbyteral Council’s.  
  • The Constitution was amended to reflect these changes as well as changes to the membership of the DPC.  (1 male, 1 female, 1 young adult, 1 Diocesan priest, 1 Religious priest, and 1 priest from the Presbyteral Council, and 3 Deacons serve).  
  • As a result of Alice Argyelan’s resignation, new officers were named: Chair – Sharon Pierscionek; Vice Chair – Amy Boone; Secretary – Cheryl Montgomery.  Commission Representatives: #1 – Jeff Werner; #2 - Jurate Harris, #3 - Luz Maria Ochoa, #4 – Sr. Linda Hatton.  Tony Molinaro will remain on the Executive Committee as chair of the Pastoral Planning Committee.  (Elections will be held again in January 2014)